What if…..

What if…..

If the world was to end and I said one last thing

I’d look you deep in the eye, give you a smile but say nothing

Because all the words in the world couldn’t in that moment express

The depth of feeling in the heart that’s compressed

If I could make one wish come true

I’d wish that my wish be given to you

Because you’re my friend and anything I can do

Just to make you happy, has me belated too

If I could re-live one day in the past

It’d be the day we met, enjoyed ourselves and laughed

Because times like that come once and are gone

What’s left are fond memories that forever stay on

If I had one chance to prove myself to you

I’d only prove myself useless without you to see me through

Because not having your help is like going on each day

Without someone to help tell me why I toil in this way

If I could give you just one thing

I’d give what to you would mean everything

Because the only worthwhile thing I could give

Is the thing that makes you smile everyday that you live.

If I could awake in a dream that came true

I’d be there, anywhere as long as I was with you

Because that’d be all I want, all that I’d need

Just to be with you, talk, laugh, …..eat ice-cream ?

If I could one day be all I hope to be

I’d still be myself no-one special just me

Because to you it doesn’t really matter much

Whether I was honored or was just “such and such”

If in this life I had no accomplishments to show

I’d deem it worthwhile still just to know

That with or without them you love me the same

And so in this life I live without shame

If I had the power to change someone’s life

I’d do it for you without thinking twice

Because you said so, because you asked

So I’d do my best to fulfill you this task

But if there was nothing left on earth I could do

I’d still be happy just having a friend so true

Because happiness isn’t based on what we gain

But on the things we’re proud of, on the things that we gave

1 Comment »

  1. leafless Said:

    Nice poem. Friendship is wonderful.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a comment